music

Finding the New Sound

Lately I feel a bit like that episode of the Mighty Boosh where Vince and Howard play Spider Dijon and Rudy van Disarzio try to find the new sound for their band, the Bongo Brothers (minus the black/brownface).

Of course, this is a representation in a psychedelic, pseudo spiritual way that is obviously dramatized but trying to figure out what the hell you’re doing with your sound can feel just about as mystical and mysterious as this looks. So, naturally, I turn back to whatever I’m listening to to get some ideas.

As I mentioned in a previous post, the new Gorillaz album really has my attention lately. Lorde also just released her second album, Melodrama, and though I’ve only listened to the singles, I’m excited to hear the rest. It sounds like a really emotional, break-up album and I think I am going for a more emotional sound on certain songs so I’m taking cues from Lorde, for sure. So, while I’m not certain exactly what I’m going for, I’m probably gonna try to incorporate some piano and electronic sounds, but I don’t know if I want them to be the focus just yet. I’ve recorded a demo for one song, and it’s relatively simple in nature, but it’s a good songwriting warm-up I think. I’m interested to see what I come up with next and I hope I can make something I’m really proud of.

https://open.spotify.com/embed/user/22tyz25e6xldkecnqqp76xdwq/playlist/4yCkrkZIyXgOuqmJQO8Tk8

I’ve been working on a playlist on Spotify to kinda help with finding the vibe, and it’s full of Gorillaz, Lorde, Marina and the Diamonds, and actually some Lady Gaga so far, so we’ll see what comes of it.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

